Skip to content

R.C. Kitsch

June 16, 2007

catholic5.jpgcatholic5.jpg

Living in a city with very pronounced changes in seasons, I find it easy to allow my tastes and personalities to cycle.
In winter, for example, I can see the appeal of Protestant asceticism. In summer, though, I feel happy amongst Catholic aestheticism. In both cases I speak only as a complete amateur, an interested passer-by.
catholic3.jpg
I’ve recently been enjoying the parts of the city where Little Italy merges into Little Portugal. These streets are very rich in Roman Catholic kitsch. To me, as an Englishman, the weird thing about Toronto is that the churches are generally still in use as churches, and that people actually go to them. The Catholic churches have this strange charm; somehow, the bigger the church, the more camp and jolly the display.
catholic4.jpg
The Catholic Kitsch aesthetic is very much to do with a European – North American hybrid culture. It’s Jesus in Disneyland! And I say that with no intended aesthetc snobbery — in fact, I think that devotion without taste is quite a nice idea.
catholic.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaclyn permalink
    June 16, 2007 7:18 am

    So many new posts! I am a happy neighbour of an ideal tiger.

  2. June 17, 2007 7:55 pm

    Good observations.
    I wish to see more pictures of the merging of Little Italy and Little Portugal. It must be tectonic.

Leave a Reply

