Skip to content

Avian Influencer

August 10, 2007

I seem to surround myself with people in masks.  All sorts of masks: tiger masks, Mexican wrestling masks, Noh theatre masks, commedia dell’arte masks… when you befriend someone, you also befriend their possessions, and it’s no coincidence that I ended up befriending so many disguises.  There’s something trustworthy about a mask.  Give a man a mask and he’ll tell you the truth, as Oscar Wilde has it.

Anyway, today I want to present Special Kate’s bird hat / veil combination as an important cultural artefact.  More headdress than mask, admittedly, but it does the same job.
n506067097_80338_9717.jpg
Today especially, because I thought it was look nice next to the fairy photographs in the previous post, but also because I hear that the bird hat has recently come into some grief of sorts.  More about that later.

(To pick up another thread — I wonder whether there’s anything here that might like to appear on a costume in the near future?)

n36800912_33637028_7895.jpg

Or does the bird hat belong to Special Kate at all?  Or is it this magical little ornament indicate the process by which Katharine becomes Kate becomes Alaska Blue, the most exciting new thing on the London burlesque scene?  You see what masks and veils can do: more names, and therefore more real.

So what became of the bird hat?  I can’t say exactly, but I believe that it is now in the possession of a Wolf… I hope it flew to safety.  But anyroad, the appearance of a newer, whiter bird hat has been rumoured.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate Davies permalink
    August 14, 2007 9:31 am

    I miss it so. It’s keeping the Wolf’s muse company at the moment. Who knows when I’ll get it back? But I dressed Will up in the Wolf’s shorts for my burlesque show, so it’s a give and take thing.

    Photos of white hat to follow soon, and I am thinking of ordering a selection of hideously realistic birds from the States for my future headpieces. Seagulls, cardinals, crows, a bird for every occasion.

  2. Kate Davies permalink
    August 22, 2007 1:36 pm

    UPDATE: I have given hat to Wolf, and have been asked to make more hats to sell in The Residence gallery shop. Look out for them online SOON.

Trackbacks

  1. London Exotica « The Ideal Tiger

Leave a Reply

