Skip to content

In this age of grand illusion, you swam into my life out of my dreams: a practical and poetical guide to fish-fancying

September 6, 2007

Aquarium the second is now fully open for business.

Why keep an aquarium?  Firstly, because it’s a good means of making a day out of a day in. It also seemed like a good way to prepare for my exam, which happens tomorrow morning.  And a more private reason, for me, is that the majority of my dreams for the last eight years have been about fish, for reasons that I don’t need to understand.
Introducing the new arrivals…

As a reward for their good work in making the new tank habitable, and as compensation for the invasion of their space by new fish, I gave the ghost shrimp a little cave to huddle up in. Here’s some action from the shrimp cave…

Then comes the most ornately-uniformed maintenance staff you’ll ever see: a couple of corydoras of the leopard catfish variety.  Astonishingly beautiful creatures.
cory2.jpg

Then there a couple of platys, which are currently too playful to stay still for a proper photograph.
platy2.jpg
I can’t quite make out the sex of either of them (and I believe they’re entitled to keep hold of some gender ambiguity), so I don’t know whether we’ll be seeing babies any time soon.  Allegedly, these things reproduce like I don’t know what.
platy.jpg

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    September 6, 2007 4:18 pm

    I’m so glad you got some corydoras fish! You know how much I love my little dr. zoidburgs! They really are the most playful and adorable fish.

  2. September 7, 2007 12:00 am

    Yes, they’re super. I have some other examples of this species in my second tank — one albino. and one bottle green. Strangely, they were the same size when I got them (10 months ago) but the albino one doubled in size and the green one didn’t grow at all. I’ll see what happens with the leopard corys!

  3. Heather permalink
    September 7, 2007 2:49 am

    I had two albinos – loved them! But they didn’t live as long as my (still living) spotted corys…People say that they are bottom dwellers, and while they DO eat down there, mine are very playful and utilize all of the tank! Do yours?

  4. September 7, 2007 5:39 am

    Well, the albino and the green cory tend to keep themselves to themselves, but then they do share a tank with tiger barbs. The leopard corys are absolutely all over the place.

  5. Heather permalink
    September 7, 2007 5:57 am

    I just moved my fishies to the borderlands between the kitchen and the living room (designated only by change in wall color). It will be nice to sleep in my room without the ‘burble-burble’ and ‘nnrrrrrr’ of the air pump. I frown upon tiger barbs! Bullies of the sea, I tell you.

  6. Heather permalink
    September 7, 2007 5:59 am

    here’s your tiger barb.

  7. Heather permalink
    September 7, 2007 5:59 am

    whah? I can’t get the photo to show…

    go there.

  8. September 7, 2007 6:01 am

    My tiger barbs are tranquil!!! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, keep them in a large enough tank and raise them in a school of six or more, and they won’t harm anyone.

  9. September 7, 2007 6:01 am

    Maybe I should make this exclusively a blog about fish, it’s more interesting.

Leave a Reply

