Skip to content

Fashion tips

April 7, 2008

This isn’t the first time that I’ve enthused about Anne Marie Varrella’s songs, and it’s unlikely to be the last. Anne Marie’s unimaginable politeness and modesty resulted in the rather upsetting disappearance of her myspace page not so long ago, even though this was the place where some of my very favourite music (I do not exaggerate) was audible to the public ear. I’m very glad to say that her songs have now resurfaced, under the name Fasoun. I insist that everyone should go and listen.
The interesting little word that provides the name for Anne Marie’s music is etymologically linked to today’s fashion, but belongs to an age when fashioning was more a matter of hand-making, self-forming, crafting and mattering; which means something quite different, of course, to the type of fashion that demands to be followed. These songs will follow you. They’re wonderful.

While I’m here, I’ll say thanks to Keith Haworth for posting a very generous review of my album on the Culture Deluxe website.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    April 13, 2008 9:10 pm

    Effing update, you digimon collector.

  2. April 14, 2008 3:08 pm

    OOpps, there’s was another comment just above, which I think I accidentally deleted. Anyway the commenter was in complete agreement and wanted to know how to get their hands on this music.
    I think the best you can do is send Anne Marie a polite message via her myspace page… I’m sure something could be arranged?

Leave a Reply

