Skip to content

Morning is broken

May 13, 2008

Since I had a bit of professional business to take care of, and I wanted to buy breakfast on the way, today I had a very rare encounter with the earlier part of the morning.  It’s not that I’m a complete idle little schemer — I just happen to conduct most of my experiments at night. 

Here’s what I heard and saw in the morning: People cycling on the pavement.  Sparrows eating jam from the floor (they only do this in the morning).  Custard delivery.  Chinese buskers playing one string. 

All very different from the unexpected encounter I had on  Sunday afternoon, on the very same stretch College Street.  A procession of Portugese children dressed in red velvet were tailed by a brass band.  Living as a foreigner in my area of Toronto you do learn to love these unexpected injections of Catholic pomp.  Jiggery-popery, let’s call it.  This returned me to an undeveloped idea I had a couple of years ago to bring together all sorts of ungodly synth brass sounds (the only way I’m going to fit any kind of brass ensemble in my apartment) to mimic various brass bands of the world.  Military, colliery, festival and funeral will come together for a bit of global trumpet-blowing.   

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    May 13, 2008 11:21 pm

    Do you still hold on to the dream of having little children put on a play of Chekhov’s work?

Leave a Reply

