Skip to content

Playing in London (and Tokyo)

June 30, 2008

To summarise: I spent this weekend in London, warmly hosted by my friends Nick and Mo. Quite apart from the rest of London, the picture in Nick’s guest bedroom is really worth mentioning. It’s a political cartoon from 1894, but I have no idea what particular parliamentary dispute is being wittily illustrated; in fact, my enjoyment of the image depends entirely on my inability to get the intended meaning.

(I truly regret that I didn’t have time to accompany my hosts to Battersea Power Station, which is open to the public for a very brief period before redevelopment starts.)

After pretending to know how to install a PA system at the venue I’d be playing at later (off Chancery Lane, in the weird ghostland around the Royal Courts of Justice) , I just had time to skip over the river to Tokyo, where Momus and his partner Hisae provided helpful Tokyo tourist information through megaphones, as part of the Hide and Seek festival.

I was delighted to see Momus and Hisae sweep into the room just as I was about to begin my set, back in London later that evening. I was also pleased to be introduced to a certain Edine who, it turns out makes lovely delicate pop as The Marshmallow Kisses; and I finally got to meet The Protagonist, and thank him first-hand for his enthusiastic critical response to my record! Thanks to these people who were kind enough to lend their new ears; and also of course to my old friends — it was a pleasure to sing for them again. Or to sing with them, as in the case of Alaska Blue.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alaska Blue permalink
    June 30, 2008 2:07 pm

    You were amazing. I particularly loved Clothes Horse. Wish I’d seen more of you though dear Ross! Come back soon xxx

  2. July 26, 2008 12:36 am

    I wish I could catch a world record. I guess it\’s a matter of choosing the right equipment, bait and being in the right location. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

