Skip to content

Duet with the past

May 14, 2010
tags:

Back in England for a too-quick visit, I discovered a box of cassettes recorded by me and my associates between 2000 and 2003 – that is, between the ages of seventeen and twenty. I’ll be uploading them a few at a time, mostly without treating their dilapidated condition. Some of the tapes have warped the sound into fascinating shapes, I can tell you. Glory be to god for mortal media.

On this recording, though, I decided to sing a duet with the past. The Fourth Wall is a song that happened ten years ago, when I passed on some words to the incomparable Jonny, who did the rest. Here’s me, last night, trying to sing along with Jonny’s recorded version: click here for the mp3.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 7:35 pm

    I always thought this song was better than you did. And the version on meticulous organ is my favourite. I adore it still more now it’s a duet. Do it to me again. Perhaps a rendition of ‘Half Closed Eyes’?

  2. May 15, 2010 8:18 pm

    I always thought Half Closed Eyes was better than you did, so we’re equal. I haven’t found that one yet, but it might well be on one of the tapes that I haven’t got to yet.

Leave a Reply

