Skip to content

Another West Yorkshire fragment: Halifax

July 6, 2010

(I recall) Wadsworth taking me in his car on a tour of some of Yorkshire’s cities. In due course we arrived on a hill above Halifax. He stopped the car and we gazed down into its industrial labyrinth. I could see he was proud of it. ‘It’s like Hell, isn’t it?’, he said enthusiastically.

Wyndham Lewis, obituary of Edward Wadsworth – requoted in Owen Hatherley’s brilliant Militant Modernism.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Steffan Silhouette permalink
    July 11, 2010 7:01 pm

    Mister Tiger
    Are you familiar with an english sound art guy named Ergo Phizmiz? If so, what do you know about him. I think he has a record on Felix Kubin’s label. How are the calypsononono recordings coming along?

    Steffan

  2. July 12, 2010 12:02 am

    I’m afraid I have never heard of anyone called Ergo Phizmiz. He sounds like the host of a Sunday night radio programme? I will try to find out about him.
    My recordings are happening, but slowly – because I am slowed down by having to make a living.

  3. Heffty gnooznickle permalink
    July 12, 2010 1:17 am

    There is nothing worse than living i mean making
    a living. I work in a record store. What degrading
    thing do you have to do?

  4. July 15, 2010 7:25 pm

    in order to stay up, keep moving
    http://zyklismus.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

