Skip to content

Harry Walden, music hall Bantam

January 12, 2011

To get things started again on this here blog, I rather wanted to post this video of Harold Walden, former Bradford City footballer (and so close to my heart) turned music hall star. You won’t get today’s footballers doing this kind of thing, though the song he sings — about the vagabond lifestyle lived by players at the mercy of the transfer market — is still fitting. I like how spectacularly unchoreographed and awkward the whole thing is.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. misterjohn permalink
    January 16, 2011 3:02 pm

    I have a 78rpm record of Harold Walden singing comic songs, “Ronnie the Robin” b/w “And only me knows why”, on the Imperial label (Imperial 2589).
    Ronnie the Robin would probably be banned these days for its theme of pederasty (Small boy and school mistress).
    One day I’ll probably manage to turn it into an MP3. In which case I’ll post it on the internet somewhere.

    • January 17, 2011 12:30 am

      That sounds like a gem that you have there – do publicise well if you happen to put it on the internet!

      • misterjohn permalink
        May 5, 2011 10:33 am

        I have now turned the cassette recording of the 78 into .wav format, and will MP3 it today

  2. misterjohn permalink
    May 5, 2011 10:58 am

    http://www.gramophone.net/Issue/Page/November%201939/29/794223/MISCELLANEOUS+AND+DANCE+Orchestral#header-logo
    This page mentions a second recording by Walden ;
    [ Harold Walden (from Ernest Binns’ Arcadian Follies), Mother I’m a soldier and Only me knows why (Parlo. F1552)]

  3. misterjohn permalink
    May 5, 2011 1:12 pm

    I’ve amended the Wikipedia entry today with the new information.

  4. misterjohn permalink
    May 16, 2011 5:59 pm

    I have now uploaded the 2 songs to my Myspace account, in the name of misterjohn, so you may be able to listen at last.

Leave a Reply

