Skip to content

Nobody cares for me… pieces about work and crime

April 11, 2011

I’m making a collection of music about work and crime. There are some downloadable mp3s on my newly-made Soundcloud page (link below): including me doing an uncover version of G-Man Hoover – a song previously uncovered by Van Dyke Parks on his Discover America album – accompanied by a circuit-bent toy Casio. Who remembers circuit-bending? It’s like 2002 in here! There’s also a piano song about a miserable tea boy, a very confident job application, the aftermath of a dinner party, and me singing VDP singing Roaring Lion singing about the Mills Brothers.

Link: Superintendent Idle Tiger

I’m also on Twitter, but don’t expect me to say anything important.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Read Obits permalink
    April 18, 2011 6:20 am

    Hell
    I listened to the new recordings. I am very pleased with Tea Boy, great lyrics & a lovely melody, very lovely, I have heard it about 10 times now & I played it on the Worried Waltz Sunday. Are you allergic to the work world? Survival is exhausting. Just the other day I chased a gazelle, pounced on it, ripped it apart with my claws & teeth & then dragged it back to my den to my loved ones. When I was a little boy, I wanted to work at the pretzel bakery, I wanted to be a pretzel twister when I grew up. Well, I got my dream job though I was fired because my pretzels looked like modern sculpture. Then I ended up working at the cardboard box factory. I hate my job, I feel boxed in. What was this message about? Oh yes, I am in love with Tea Boy.

    Read Obits

    • Kalevala Pillsbury permalink
      April 18, 2011 2:51 pm

      Also, Tea Boy would be a perfect song for a Van Dyke like baroque pop string arrangement.
      If I had a million dollars, I would give you the money to hire him. I do not have a million dollars.

      • April 18, 2011 3:07 pm

        I agree. The thing is, when you see people on TV who’ve just won a million dollars on the lottery or a game show and they’re asked what they’re going to do with the money, they always say “I’m going to buy a house and go on a boat and send my children to an expensive college” — they never say “I’m going to get Van Dyke Parks to arrange a song I wrote”. Idiots.

    • April 18, 2011 3:13 pm

      I’m fortunate because the only jobs I’ve got to worry about right now are various types of teaching and freelance paper-shuffling that can be done in my own time. Nevertheless I know all about debt collectors and other people wanting money so I do think a lot about survival.

      I once worked at a chocolate factory, which is supposed to be fun. It wasn’t. They put me in the nut department.

Leave a Reply

