Skip to content

Monster Momus Musical?

June 3, 2011

Sometimes a piece of news makes such good sense that it takes quite a while to mentally process the information. The word from Momus’s Tumblr site is that a “cinematic Momus musical” is being planned. Peter Webber, director of Girl With a Pearl Earring is involved, and the provisional title is Monsters of Love. (Personally I’d have gone with Hippopotamomuses of Love, but that’s OK.) Furthermore, it’s hoped that Leo Chadburn a.k.a. Simon Bookish will be doing clever arrangements of highlights from the massive Momus book of songs.

I think we can all agree that that’s a good idea.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 7:51 am

    This could be the greatest movie event of our generation.

    • June 30, 2011 1:13 am

      Won’t it just? It should have been made years ago really.

  2. helmut sperber permalink
    September 15, 2011 4:09 am

    Mister
    You have vanished. Are you alive? How is
    this new album coming along? Will there be things that I haven’t heard on it? What have you
    heard that is fantastic? I am quite into The Caretaker, he makes sort of a ghostly ballroom
    music. They are finally about to release the original Smile sessions. It really is a shame that
    it didn’t come out in the 60’s, they were out pop weirding everybody. And Brian & Van Dyke maybe could have gone further.

  3. September 15, 2011 8:50 pm

    I am alive but it’s true that my movements are not well publicised at the moment. My new album is all finished, but I was waiting for a picture to go with it. You will have heard most of it in an earlier form. There might be one or two new things.

    I rather suspected that you were the Caretaker, actually. No?

  4. September 15, 2011 8:51 pm

    And yes, I saw that Smile is upcoming again. Actually I’d be quite happy if a new form of it would just appear from a closet every seven years or so for the new few centuries.

  5. baba ganoush permalink
    March 1, 2012 12:26 am

    Hell
    I played The Ambient Postman on the
    Worried Waltz a few weeks ago which
    made me think of your new album. Is it
    still coming out on Ergo’s netlabel?
    Are you being truly idle? I’m working on
    an opera about a man who likes to rip
    paper. I’m not really working on a opera,
    I just said that in an effort to impress you.

  6. December 5, 2012 11:32 pm

    You should start blogging again. It’s not just for twats anymore.

Leave a Reply

